Flag-making

I don’t often think about how different Maja and Janek’s childhood is to mine, or what it’s going to mean for their allegiances later on. Sometimes I wonder when they’re going to start correcting my Polish, but otherwise I’m too wrapped up in getting through the day to reflect much.

So I don’t even know how to name the feeling that came over me when I went to pick them up at pre-school on the Friday after Independence Day, and saw  two smeary red and white Polish flags hanging on the art display board, signed with their names. A faintly fearful, faintly nostalgic feeling- things that I will never understand will be important to them.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Flag-making

  1. You’ve captured a universal parental feeling, intensified and in one very telling image. Hugs all round.

  2. Sarah

    I feel the same way and I am not even in another country!!
    Different city, rural vs inner city – technology!

    Freaks me out too!

    Hope you are well & greetings from sunny Melbourne !

Leave a comment