16 month lexicon

It occurs to me that these are the final moments when I will be able to even attempt counting the words that the kids know, and I will likely want to remember at some point what was going on when they started talking, so here is a list of words they use at the moment. Besides these words, they also have a repertoire of yelps and gasps to express surprise and shock.

ball

bath (this word leads to a frantic rush to the bathroom and desperate attempts to tear off clothes and climb into the bath)

book

uwaga (look out!)

no,no,no, no, accompanied by a wagging finger

thank you

daj! (or try)

hello

doon-doon (a word used in my family for generations to describe a cave made out of sheets or blankets)

lampa (light)

nana (all food and drink)

gloom (this clearly means milk, though I have no idea where it came from)

pić (drink)

tak (yes), maybe?

butybutybutybutybuty (shoesshoesshoesshoesshoes)

papa (byebye)

hauhau (woof woof- apparently this covers all animal noises, so koalas and cats also say hauhau)

tam (there)

mama

tata

baby

nose

 

2 Comments

Filed under language, language acqusition, Polish language

2 responses to “16 month lexicon

  1. I am so glad doon-doon is passing down the generations. That’s now five generations, and your paternal great-grandmother lives on. I wish I’d considered such a list of words for you four – I think I may have done a sort of one for Stevo, but in a quickly-faded burst of enthusiasm.

    Gloom? Fertile ground for etymological mythologising!

  2. Corrigendum! It was your father, so only three generations!

Leave a comment